Alle rapporter
The Shipwreck Arcana rapporterer
#124663: "The +1 power doesn't work the way it should."
notabug: Dette er ikke en fejl
1
Hvad handler denne rapport om?
Hvad skete der? Vær venlig og vælg nedenunder
Brugerfladen stoppede mig fra at udføre en handling som reglerne tillader
Detaljeret beskrivelse
• Hvad var den spilhandling du ønskede at udføre?
On table 515773412, turn 75.
With the following cards :
- Unique
- Higher
- 7 to 9
- Odd
With a 6 and 7 in my hands.
The game has the option "Ensure valid plays" active.
With my 6 and 7, i can play on Unique and Odd.
I wanted to play the +1 power to treat my unplayed tile 1 higher than the printed value.
So i wanted to treat my 6 like a 7, so i have double 7 in hands, so i can't play anwhere, so i have to play on the black card The Hours.
After playing the +1 power, the game doesn't refresh valid plays, so I can still play on Unique and Odd, that's the bug.
This power does not seem to work with the option Ensure valid plays.
Here is on the official website a FAQ for this power (search Shadows, or +1)
www.meromorphgames.com/shipwreck-arcana/powers• Hvad forsøgte du at gøre for at udløse denne spilhandling?
Used the +1 power.• Hvad skete der, da du forsøgre at gøre dette (fejlmeddelelse, meddelelsesstatusbjælke, ...)?
No error message.• Hvilken browser bruger du?
Mozilla 125
Rapporthistorik
22. maj 2024 17:53 •
somonflex • Fejlen er ikke blevet reproduceret af udviklere endnu:
22. maj 2024 18:10 • I think that, after activating the power, you should be able to choose the tile on which you want to apply the +1, then play the other tile on a card.
Oberstille • Fejlen er ikke blevet reproduceret af udviklere endnu:
22. maj 2024 20:11 • Hm: I may be reading the rules and Meormorph's FAQ differently than you are. In particular, I'm looking at the second question for "The Hours":
Q: What if I can't play anywhere except The Hours, but using a power (such as Shadows) would let me play elsewhere?
A: In this case, you may either:
- Not use the power, and play on The Hours.
- Use the power, and play elsewhere.
You are not required to use the power and play elsewhere. But if you do use the power and now can play elsewhere, you must play elsewhere.
This situation works in reverse, as well. If you currently can play elsewhere, but using a power (such as Shadows) would make it impossible for you to play anywhere except The Hours, you may either:
- Not use the power, and play elsewhere.
- Use the power, and play on The Hours.
But here, after you use Shadows ("+1"), you still have a valid play; you can put the 6 on The Rider ("Unique"), which makes the unplayed 7 become an 8 for the rest of the turn. The way that I read that FAQ entry, the game is correct not to let you play on The Hours in that situation.
On the UI front, what you're suggesting is actually how I was initially thinking of implementing Shadows. However, that would create some tricky situations, similar to the ones that the last FAQ entry for Shadows discusses ("Q: How does Shadows interact with cards like Dawn or The Noble? A: When you use Shadows, you increment the value of whichever fate you don’t play. This can lead to some tricky scenarios! Let’s walk through a few of them. [...]").
For example, what would happen if you had two fates, A and B, and you explicitly chose to apply the +1 power to A, and that left you unable to play anywhere except The Hours? We'd need to ensure that, if playing Shadows on B would let you play somewhere other than The Hours, we prevented you from playing on The Hours and let you switch to the other token.
Instead, the way the game works is a lot more similar to what that FAQ describes---the token you don't play does not get the +1 effect until you play the other one! When you have the Shadows power active, instead of asking "Would either of fates A and B be valid on this card?", the game asks "If I had fates A and B+1, would fate A be a valid play? If I had fates A+1 and B, would B be a valid play?"
Does that make sense? Am I understanding what you said correctly?
Q: What if I can't play anywhere except The Hours, but using a power (such as Shadows) would let me play elsewhere?
A: In this case, you may either:
- Not use the power, and play on The Hours.
- Use the power, and play elsewhere.
You are not required to use the power and play elsewhere. But if you do use the power and now can play elsewhere, you must play elsewhere.
This situation works in reverse, as well. If you currently can play elsewhere, but using a power (such as Shadows) would make it impossible for you to play anywhere except The Hours, you may either:
- Not use the power, and play elsewhere.
- Use the power, and play on The Hours.
But here, after you use Shadows ("+1"), you still have a valid play; you can put the 6 on The Rider ("Unique"), which makes the unplayed 7 become an 8 for the rest of the turn. The way that I read that FAQ entry, the game is correct not to let you play on The Hours in that situation.
On the UI front, what you're suggesting is actually how I was initially thinking of implementing Shadows. However, that would create some tricky situations, similar to the ones that the last FAQ entry for Shadows discusses ("Q: How does Shadows interact with cards like Dawn or The Noble? A: When you use Shadows, you increment the value of whichever fate you don’t play. This can lead to some tricky scenarios! Let’s walk through a few of them. [...]").
For example, what would happen if you had two fates, A and B, and you explicitly chose to apply the +1 power to A, and that left you unable to play anywhere except The Hours? We'd need to ensure that, if playing Shadows on B would let you play somewhere other than The Hours, we prevented you from playing on The Hours and let you switch to the other token.
Instead, the way the game works is a lot more similar to what that FAQ describes---the token you don't play does not get the +1 effect until you play the other one! When you have the Shadows power active, instead of asking "Would either of fates A and B be valid on this card?", the game asks "If I had fates A and B+1, would fate A be a valid play? If I had fates A+1 and B, would B be a valid play?"
Does that make sense? Am I understanding what you said correctly?
somonflex • Fejlen er ikke blevet reproduceret af udviklere endnu:
23. maj 2024 9:49 • Before using the +1, i can play on Unique and Odd, it's ok.
After using the +1, i still can play on Unique and Odd.
For Unique, it works if you "force" the +1 on the 7, but then we have no choice, it greatly limits the usefulness of the power.
For Odd, it doesn't make any difference if you give the +1 to any tile, the result is NOT odd, I shouldn't be able to play this card.
After using the +1, i still can play on Unique and Odd.
For Unique, it works if you "force" the +1 on the 7, but then we have no choice, it greatly limits the usefulness of the power.
For Odd, it doesn't make any difference if you give the +1 to any tile, the result is NOT odd, I shouldn't be able to play this card.
Oberstille • Fejlen er ikke blevet reproduceret af udviklere endnu:
24. maj 2024 16:25 • I went and took a closer look at your replay, and I saw what you were originally talking about. It turns out that there is a bug specific to The Stranger ("Odd") that is causing it to ignore the effects of Shadows ("+1") for the purposes of determining which fates can be played.
If we imagine that that bug has been fixed (and it has been; the fix will be included in my next release) I think that the game is correct that in showing that playing a 6 on The Rider ("Unique") is your only valid play.
You had a 6 and 7 in hand, and there were a 1 and 2 in play. If you play your 6 on The Rider, the 7 in your hand becomes an 8, and that satisfies the uniqueness rule; but if you play the 7, the 6 in your hand becomes a 7, and that then the uniqueness rule is no longer satisfied.
What I was trying to explain in my previous comment is that, if I'm reading the rules correctly (in particular the FAQ entry on Shadows), you can't pick which fate you want the +1 power to apply to in advance in order to create a situation where you can play one fate on The Hours, if you could play the other fate on another card. My reading is that Shadows *always* applies to whichever you don't play.
Does that make more sense? Maybe I'll create a post on BGG and see if we can get one of the designers to weigh in.
If we imagine that that bug has been fixed (and it has been; the fix will be included in my next release) I think that the game is correct that in showing that playing a 6 on The Rider ("Unique") is your only valid play.
You had a 6 and 7 in hand, and there were a 1 and 2 in play. If you play your 6 on The Rider, the 7 in your hand becomes an 8, and that satisfies the uniqueness rule; but if you play the 7, the 6 in your hand becomes a 7, and that then the uniqueness rule is no longer satisfied.
What I was trying to explain in my previous comment is that, if I'm reading the rules correctly (in particular the FAQ entry on Shadows), you can't pick which fate you want the +1 power to apply to in advance in order to create a situation where you can play one fate on The Hours, if you could play the other fate on another card. My reading is that Shadows *always* applies to whichever you don't play.
Does that make more sense? Maybe I'll create a post on BGG and see if we can get one of the designers to weigh in.
somonflex • Fejlen er ikke blevet reproduceret af udviklere endnu:
29. maj 2024 14:50 • The FAQ say the active player use the +1 power THEN they choose the fate they will not play this turn and mentally add 1 to its value THEN they play their other fate as though their hidden fate has the adjusted value.
So the order is :
1) power is activated
2) choose the tile that will gain the +1
3) Play the other tile on a card.
If we respect this order, it should be possible to play on The Hours with this power.
So the order is :
1) power is activated
2) choose the tile that will gain the +1
3) Play the other tile on a card.
If we respect this order, it should be possible to play on The Hours with this power.
Oberstille • Dette er ikke en fejl:
31. maj 2024 15:51 • I recently got a response from one of the designers about this (in this BGG thread: boardgamegeek.com/thread/3306166) and I still think that my interpretation is correct and matches his, so I'm going to mark this "notabug", but I'll keep an eye on that thread and if the designer comes back and tells me I'm wrong, we'll change this!
Tilføj noget til denne rapport
Vær sød at tilføje, det du finder relevant for at vi kan løse fejlen i spillet eller forstå dit forslag:
- Et andet bord-ID / træk ID
- Løste F5 problemet?
- Skete problemet flere gange? Hver gang? Tilfældigt?
- Hvis du har et skærmbillede af denne fejl (god øvelse), kan du bruge Imgur.com til at uploade den og kopiere/indsætte linket her.